Exploring The Seven Deadly Sins – Tarot Spread

The Seven Deadly Sins is a very popular theological concept known through out the western world. The Seven Deadly Sins was created by  a 4th century Greek monk Evagrius Ponticus who wrote of the “evil thoughts” in Greek. He lists these “evil thoughts” as gluttony, fornication, avarice, hubris, envy,wrath, boasting and dejection. In 590 AD Pope Gregory I revised the list into the list we know today. Lust, gluttony, greed, sloth, wrath, envy and pride.

Rainbow_of_Seven_Sins_Wallpaper_JxHyExplanation of the sins

Pride – The excessive belief in one’s own abilities, that interferes with the individual’s recognition of the grace of God. It has been called the sin from which all others arise. Pride is also known as Vanity.

Envy – The desire for others’ traits, status, abilities, or situation.

Gluttony – The inordinate desire to consume more than that which one requires.

Lust – The an inordinate craving for the pleasures of the body.

Anger – The manifested in the individual who spurns love and opts instead for fury. It is also known as Wrath.

Greed – The desire for material wealth or gain, ignoring the realm of the spiritual. It is also called Avarice or Covetousness.

Sloth – The avoidance of physical or spiritual work.


The seven deadly sins though written by a Greek monk is not a emphasized teaching in Orthodoxy as with Catholicism, the focus tends to stay on the virtues, not the sins.


We all are subject to the following “sins” at some point or another. We all become prideful, envious of others, eat more than we need, become lazy and so forth. Using the tarot will allow us to explore how/what/why we fall into these patterns.


This spread involves 7 cards, one card for each sin. There is no layout shape so lay them out as you wish.


[1] Pride -What in myself do I pride myself in/ why am I prideful?

[2] Envy – What do I envy in others/ why do I envy others?

[3] Gluttony – What do I desire excessively / why do I desire this excessively?

[4] Lust – What do I lust after / Why do I lust for the things I do?

[5] Anger – What makes me angry/ why do I become angry?

[6] Greed – What am I greedy for/ why do I become greedY?

[7] Sloth – What spiritual work am I avoiding / why do I avoid spiritual work?




The recipient of Tarosophist of the Year 2011, Angelo Nasios is a rising voice in the tarot community. Angelo is known for his popular YouTube channel in which he produces educational tarot videos. Tarot: Unlocking the Arcana, Angelo’s first book will be released by Schiffer Publishing.

More Posts - Website

Follow Me:

  • http://sakem.info Kayla Ayrton Pulesanderu

    In traditional Catholicism, they have even come to be thought of as the three great virtues sort of opposed, I guess, to the seven deadly sins .